Welcome

Our website is undergoing reconstruction – please make allowances for work in progress.

The Embroiderers’ Guild, Queensland is a relaxed environment where members share knowledge, learn new skills, and enjoy fellowship.

Throughout the ages, people of all ethnic backgrounds and cultures have adorned their clothes and homes. The techniques and styles may vary with time and place, but the results are always the same: to celebrate the love of the beautiful.

One of the aims of our Guild has been to keep all forms of embroidery alive, both modern and traditional techniques. We have a range of classes which cater for differing levels of skill from the beginner to the accomplished embroiderer.

You do not have to be an experienced embroiderer to enjoy the many pleasures the Guild offers. Discover your inner creativity, learn how to express it with needle and thread, and delight in the company of like-minded people.

Sally Wall
EGQ Honorary President



Embroidery Technique: Surface Stitching
Embroidery Technique: Surface Stitching
Saturday 2 March, 9.30 am - 3.00 pm

Paisley Fun - Glasses Case

Start Stitching: Upcycling Jean Embroidery
Start Stitching: Upcycling Jean Embroidery
Sunday 10 March, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Everyone welcome - beginners or experienced embroiderers alike - you don't have to be a Guild member.

Embroidery Technique: Kogin
Embroidery Technique: Kogin
Tuesday 19 March, 9.30 am - 3.00 pm

Discover the counted rhythms of Kogin.

Embroidery Technique: Goldwork
Embroidery Technique: Goldwork
Saturday 27 April 2024, 9.30 am - 3.00 pm
Sunday 28 April 2024, 9.30 am - 3.00 pm

Golden Butterfly - Homage to Margo

Embroidery Technique: Canvaswork
Embroidery Technique: Canvaswork
Saturday 11 May, 9.30 am - 3.00 pm

Pink Crescents – Glasses Case

Bullion Stitch with Firdes Ali
Bullion Stitch with Firdes Ali
Tuesday 12 March, 9:30 am - 12:30 pm, or
Saturday 16 March, 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Learn Bullion Stitch, stitch a rosebud with surrounding leaves, and begin a full rose.

Jacobean Crewel with Firdes Ali
Jacobean Crewel with Firdes Ali
Day One: Tuesday 16 April, 9.30 am – 2.30 pm
Day Two: Tuesday 23 April, 9.30 am – 2.30 pm

Traditional crewel work using a scroll design which features pomegranates, berries and leaves.

Scotch Thistle in Silk Ribbon
Scotch Thistle in Silk Ribbon
Thursday 27 June, 9.30 am – 3.30 pm, or
Saturday 29 June, 9:30 am - 3:30 pm

Learn to use silk ribbon creatively to embroider larger motifs.

Exploring More Stitches
Exploring More Stitches
Day One: Tuesday 30 April, 10:30 am -1.00 pm
Day Two: Tuesday 7 May, 10:30 am -1.00 pm

Develop your stitch repertoire using a variety of thread weights and colours to create a gorgeous linen pouch.

Blackwork Glasses Case
Blackwork Glasses Case
Day One: Saturday 3 August, 9.30 am – 3.00 pm
Day Two: Saturday 10 August, 9.30 am – 3.00 pm

A floral spray stiched in Blackwork patterns.

previous arrow
next arrow